“Not all know me as their king….”

These were the words of King Aren in a children’s storybook written by  Glen Keane called, Adam Racoon and the Mighty Giant. He was sitting on top of a tall rock looking at a beautiful sunrise with Adam Racoon.How I read these words to the kids, over and over: “This is all my kingdom, Adam, but not all know me as their king.”

And I heard these words spoken to me! And I saw a vision – but before you go thinking I have lost my mind, please let me share my story with you, and for those who have heard it, please allow me to repeat it once again! It was only about an hour and a half after my third chemo treatment in my fight against a large cancerous tumor in my breast.

O my, I could feel death flow through my bone marrow, literally! I felt very sick and all I could do was lay down. (Now those that know me, KNOW that I don’t lay down easily!) Could that be why God had to ‘make’ me to lie down? I don’t know. All I know is, I was thinking that they had given me more chemo than my body could handle and I thought I was going to ‘die’. So, I talked to the Lord, because that is what you do when you think you’re goin’ to ‘die!’ And I told Him in my thoughts, “I thought I would be seeing bright lights.” But no lights did I see, just blackness but then a door, and the door opened and – you will not believe what I saw –

clearly, make no mistake, it was the hands of Jesus, turned palms up with the scars. And then I heard, not in voice, but the words were there, “Not all know Me as their King.”

OK, you can put me in a category with the ‘crazies’, and that is OK! (I think God can use us ‘crazies!’) And it was later in a church service that I knew I was going to ‘survive’ this cancer because God spoke to me in His word in Philipians 1:25, “And being confident of this, I know that I shall remain and continue with you all for your progress and joy of faith…”

But why do I tell my story again after 3 years? Because, when the Lord spoke to me personally and told me Himself, “Not all know Me as their King.” I knew what He wanted me to do. He wanted me to get the message out. And He knew I was holding back and stumbling over disappointments and grief. Who would have thought that ‘cancer’ would have been a way for God to ‘heal’ so much of  my brokenness and to give me vision again and focus?

So, of course it is my whole hearts desire that my whole family, near and far and distant and close to know Him, Jesus Christ as their King of Kings and their Lord of Lords. I was like Adam Racoon in the story, all excited and ready -but ‘NO WAY’ would Adam Racoon  go and tell the ‘Mighty Giant!’ He was afraid. My mom was a ‘mighty giant’ to me. I was afraid to tell her that she needed Jesus in order to go to heaven. That Jesus talked about hell even more than He talked about heaven when your read the gospels – Hell is real- and I didn’t want my mom to go there!

Well, I have a friend who very recently has just lost her dad. He must have been a wonderful man, and he went home to be with the Lord. But my friend was grieving. She expressed her grief and asked for prayer on fb. I began to pray and as I was praying for her and thinking how hard this was for her, even knowing her dad had Jesus and was in heaven – how hard would this be if this happened, knowing I had never told my mom that Jesus is the Door to heaven.

So, in praying for a friend in grief over death, I faced my giant! I finally, straight out told my mom that Jesus suffered so much and took all that pain and the cross to pay our penalty of sin. Without Jesus, there is no forgiveness of sin. The day finally came when I was able to say, “Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved,…” (Act. 16:31), and I was able to pray with my mom. I now know she understands everything. The rest is all in God’s hands!

It will be a glorious day when I know that my entire family will be together in heaven and I can say the rest of the verse, “you and your household.” He’s only a prayer away. If we ‘call on the name of Jesus, we will be saved, from death for ever – and for ever is a long time!

That we would all know Him as our King and be together singing that ol’ hymn that Billy Graham always sang at the end of all of his meetings, me and all my household, near and far, distant and close:

 “Just as I am, without one plea, But that THY Blood was shed for me, And that THOU bidd’st me come to THEE, O LAMB of GOD, I Come!

Just as I am, and waiting not To rid my soul of one dark blot, To THEE whose Blood can cleanse each spot, O LAMB of GOD, I come!

Just as I am, tho’ tossed about With many a conflict, many a doubt, Fightings and fears with- in, with- out, O LAMB of GOD , I come!

Just as I am- poor, wretched, blind; Sight, riches, healing of the mind, Yea, all I need in THEE to find, O LAMB of GOD, I come! Just as I am- THOU wilt receive, Wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve, Because THY promise I Believe, O LAMB of GOD, I come! I come! –(Just as I Am)– Charlotte Elliott.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on ““Not all know me as their king….””

  1. Reblogged this on Toni Rypkema and commented:

    In remembering just 4 years ago when I found out I had cancer, it is a good reminder to me to read over some old writings. They remind me what’s most important in life, now that I am doing well and ‘worried’ about so many things, not just ‘survival’!

Leave a Reply

