“Do I need to turn around?”

 God speaks: “And now I will show you the best way of all.”

“But honestly Lord, it is not that You haven’t shown us, it’s just that we are ‘stiff-necked’ at times, there’s no turning of our heads to see Your Way. It seems that the attitudes and natural direction of man, really tends to be quite opposite to Yours.

This is my prayer at this day and time, “Lord, put the ‘fear of God’ into our hearts continually, because it is the “fear of the Lord that is the beginning of wisdom;…Psalm 111:10.

There is a lot of knowledge and we really think we have a good understanding, but do we have wisdom? Many of us are simply ‘doing what is right in our own eyes,’ but God, I pray that You would open our eyes to see that  what naturally seems right to man, the good word tells us, that, ‘it’s end is the way of death.’ Proverbs. 14:12. Give us wisdom to see this!

So, Lord, maybe my prayer should be, ‘Lord, make us hungry and thirsty for You! Give us an appetite for seeking You and Your way.Is it time for a ‘turn around?’ To move in Your direction?

“You may speak in different languages…but if you do not have love, you are only a noisy bell or a clanging cymbal. And you might even have the gift of prophesy; you may understand all the secrets of God and have all knowledge and you may even have faith so great that you can move mountains. But even with all of these things, if you do not have love,

you are nothing.

You may even give everything you have to feed the poor, and may even give your own body as an offering to be burned. But you gain nothing by doing these things if you do not have love.” (1 Cor. 13:1-3).“God is love.”But we all know, deep down inside, that we are not! O how we need Him.

We all know what it’s like to cut open a pumpkin.  Whoever came up with the idea of cutting openings on the outside and cleaning all the gunk out on the inside so they could shine a light through the darkness, I do not know. That’s what we’re all like inside – filled with gunk! When we are poked  a bit, especially with something sharp, what’s on the inside is clearly seen – it’s slimy and messy and just not appealing to the eyes or the touch!

But you see, God IS love. And ‘this is love, not that we loved God but that He loved us.’

“God, how can you know everything, yet still love?  To think that ‘You search me and know me. that You know my sitting down and my rising up; You even understand my thought afar off. You know where I go and where I lie down, you know all my ways. There isn’t even a word on my tongue that You don’t know!  You even enclose me in front and from behind and have Your hand on me. This is beyond my understanding.’ (Psalm 139:1-6).”

“To think, that knowing all of me, that You don’t give up, ever.  Instead You reached out  Your Hands, on the cross, and cleaned the junk away. The gunk of sin that one man, Adam brought to us all,  the punishment of death, (Romans 5:18).”

 “…and whosoever would believe in Him, shall not perish but have…” And many of us feel that we are perishing. Cry out to God! The cry is written in an old song: 

‘Rushing Wind to blow through this temple, Blowing out the dust within. Come and breathe Your breath upon me- I’ve been born again.’ (yes, this old Keith Green song says it so plain.) “Today Lord, empty me of all the junk inside- and fill me with You. I am filled with a lot from this world, but, empty me – make me hungry and thirsty again,  for You”

Show me the most excellent way for You are the Way. Please do a work of love in my heart, especially for those closest to me. ‘Change me daily into Your image, Help me bear good fruit’, for the fruit of the Spirit is …

LOVE. Don’t give up on me Lord. “Search me O God, and know my heart. Try me and know my thoughts. See if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way…” (Ps. 139:23). “Jesus, may Your  light begin to shine in my  dark heart. ‘Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit in me…” (Ps. 51:10).

Turn me around to Love. That I might pocess Joy. Peace. Patience. Kindness. Goodness. Faithfulness. Gentleness. &Self-control.(Gal. 5:22).

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

