True worship satisfies the most desperate, with an answer from the Lord…

The Cananite woman in Matthew 15:21-28, needed a miracle for her daughter, and she had heard how the Jews had cried out to Jesus,and they were healed, so she used their same formula and cried out the same words, “Have mercy on me, O Lord, thou Son of David! My daughter is severely demon possessed.”

But Jesus answered her not a word.”

She began to bother the disciples by her constant crying, and they went to Jesus and literally said,(today’s English) “Lord, send her away, she’s so annoying.”

Did this woman turn away? No! Did she give up? No! This woman was desperate for the Lord. This woman turned to worship Him.  There was nothing left, nowhere else to go,”…she came and worshiped Him saying,”Lord, help me!”Matthew 15:25.

Jesus answered her like this,” It is not good to take the children’s  bread and throw it to the little dogs,”(vs. 26), basically saying, “I have come for the lost sheep of Israel,” (namely the Jews).  This woman turned to worship Him.  Jesus appeared to be cold and hard, but He actually was not, He was waiting…

because it’s not about the ‘right words’ to say, it’s not about even the ‘right position’ to be in, it’s about the attitude of the heart – it is when she came and worshiped Him…

So, the woman answered, “True, Lord,  yet even the little dogs eat the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.”(vs. 27). “Then Jesus answered her…”

Yes, Jesus answered her as she worshiped, “O woman, great is your faith! Let it be to you as you desire.” And her daughter was healed from that very hour.”(Matthew 15:28). God’s love IS patient and kind.

What am I doing? Am I turning away? O how I need to turn to the One who loves, even the outcasts, even the ‘dogs’.He is not cold and hard hearted, He’s waiting for our hearts to turn toward Him, and worship Him. No more ‘walking in circles’, “I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold; I’d rather be His than have riches untold; I’d rather have Jesus than houses or lands. I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hand.”

“Than to be the king of a vast domain Or be held in sin’s dread sway. I’d rather have Jesus than anything This world affords to-day.”

“I’d rather have Jesus than men’s applause; I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause; I’d rather have Jesus than world-wide fame. I’d rather be true to His holy name. ” “He’s fairer than lilies of rarest bloom; He’s sweeter than honey from out the comb; He’s all that my hungering spirit needs. I’d rather have Jesus and let Him lead.” 

“Than to be the king of a vast domain Or be held in sin’s dread sway. I’d rather have Jesus than anything this world affords to-day.” (1922, I’d Rather Have Jesus by Rhea F. Miller).

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

