God is love…

God is love. 1John 4:8.

The real question is, are we willing to believe it?

It’s not easy when you are hurting. I remember hearing words of a song many years ago, “If you don’t have a willing heart, then ask Him to give you one.” Oh, I knew I didn’t have a willing heart…to forgive,

to let go,

to trust God

to see the good,

to look on the good side.

There was too much pain, too much hurt and loss. I knew that I did’t have a willing heart, and I knew I wasn’t ready to ask Him to give me one.

I ‘tried’ to forgive, to let go, all of those things, and just couldn’t. But then there was a day, and  I knew – I was  finally ready to ask Him, “Lord, give me a willing heart. A willing heart to let go of the hurt and the pain, to let go of the past and move forward, God give me a willing heart!”

C.H. Spurgeon helped me to begin to understand something about all my personal pain and loss with a poem he wrote,“God in Israel sows the seeds Of affliction, pain, and toil; Trials make the promise sweet; Trials give new life to prayer; Trials bring me to His feet, Lay me low, and keep me there.” (Beside Still Waters, CH Spurgeon).

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

