Who is God? I think Humpty Dumpty can tell us…

 

God gets a lot of ‘bad press’ that is continually full of lies , and this, from the beginning of time until the present. Yet, ‘He opens not His mouth.” (Is. 53:7). But when do we, personally, people on this earth, finally ‘seek the truth?’ We seek it, ‘…finally’, when we’ve had some kind of ‘falling’.  And sometimes, it takes a ‘great fall’. (Be it sickness or death of a loved one, or compulsive behavior that is debilitating, or financial strain, or an angry child, loss of any sort,etc.)

It’s ironic, but the whole story is told quite simply, in the little child’s nursery rhyme ‘Humpty Dumpty’.  ‘Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall, all the kings horses and all the kings men, couldn’t put Humpty together again”. Yes, that is the hopelessness about a life without God. I was Humpty Dumpty, and I sat on a wall, and yes, there was a day when my ‘world’ had a great fall and nothing could ‘help me’ be put together, nothing ‘helped’ me be ‘whole’.

But there is another version of this story, but this time, it goes like this: “Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. Humpty Dumpty shouted “AMEN” God will put  me together again!” Yes, this is a version with hope. This is a version you look for after knowing the ‘truth’ about God.

Yes, we all learn that we are ‘Humpty Dumpty’ after  we’ve lived a while and ‘tried to fix it all’ with every resource – except God –  trying to ‘prove’ that ‘we can do it on our own because for some reason we ‘believed all of the ‘bad press’ about Him. We believed He is ‘angry ‘ at us .We ‘believed the lies that He is only there for the ‘perfect’ ones.

But when the ‘brokenness’ is severe and the only place to cry is to God, we discover something so different from what we originally thought to be true – we find that He is there. How can that be?

Because He is not who we thought He was. From the Living Bible, it is said of God that He:“…decended in the form of a pillar of cloud and stood there with him, (Moses), and passed in front of him and announced the meaning of his name. “I am Jehovah, the merciful and gracious God,” he said, “slow to anger and rich in steadfast love and truth.

I Jehovah, show this steadfast love to many thousands by forgiving their sins; (literally forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin),(Ex. 34:6,7, Living).

Somehow, we are misled, we are lied to, we are deceived. But this is God. He waited patiently for me. He waited for my cry to Him. And He came to…put me back together again!

These are some words from God: “Peace, peace to him who is far off and to him who is near,”…”And I will heal him.” (Is. 57:19, NKJV). He knows what we are made of. He’s knows how very fragile we are. And He knows, we have been broken…“Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you. Again I will build you, and you shall be rebuilt…”Jer. 31:3.

Know the truth, it will set you free. “Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know. (Jer. 33:3). This is God’s phone number. “Behold, I will bring …health and healing; I will heal them and reveal to them the abundance of peace and truth.”(Jer. 33:6). “I will cleanse them from all their iniquity by which they have sinned against Me, and I will pardon all their iniquities by which they have sinned and by which they have transgressed against Me.” (Jer. 33:8).

“Then it shall be to Me a name of joy,…” (Jer. 33:9).

Even ‘Humpty Dumpty’, because, ‘Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. but Humpty Dumpty shouted “AMEN” God will put me together again! God uses everything! And guess what He uses for the glue? Oh yes, Jesus. His name is Jesus…He IS the glue!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

4 thoughts on “Who is God? I think Humpty Dumpty can tell us…”

  1. Amazing, how you put this. The Humpty Dumpty reference is so telling..and true.
    It was a deep and aching brokenness that led me to God, truly running TO Him, even though He had been “in my face” for most of my life. I’d grown up being in& out of churches, but never really knowing a relationship is what God wants from each of us, not rituals and rules. It took the worst pain I’d ever experienced, the pain that no one around me could fix. Some did try, some just ran away. Even though people suggested all sorts of fixes to me, it was like that bruised part of me said “NO, we need Jesus.” The rest is history(well, my testimony lol).
    I don’t know if this is “right” but when I pray for my friends/family/people I come across, I find myself asking God to break their hearts if that’s what it takes to get to their souls. I know it took a devastating heartbreak (not sent by God but surely due to my own ways) for me to find Jesus in the end. If it happened again I would surely welcome it, knowing that He is at the end of the road waiting for me. Brokenness is a blessing sometimes. There, God has us where He wants us! Helpless and crying out for Him.

    1. I love this reply! And all because we are Humpty Dumpty’s, and were broken! Together we shout “Amen, God is constantly putting us together again! In heaven , there is No more ‘crackin’! I can’t to hear what our “Amen” sounds like then!

Leave a Reply

