Your story begins…then you hear that sweet sound, “Amazing Grace”.

Don’t even think of what was past – your story isn’t written yet. Not until you run to the ‘Waters of Life’ – THAT is when your story begins…Your story begins when you discover that the ‘Waters of Life’ are a name – the name of Jesus. Have you ever called ON that name? I mean, really taken a breath and called ON the name? Not ‘called out’ as a curse, but called on  His Name…as a Savior? Oh, that is when you discover why everyone gets so excited over the age old hymn, Amazing Grace.

All of a sudden, every word was written for the first time…by you. It’s as if the hymn is an old boot, and as you put it on -it fits PERFECTLY and is wonderfully comfortable!

None of it made sense before. ‘Grace’ was just a word. But suddenly, ‘Grace’ becomes a bath. An ocean-blast of cleansing! ‘Grace’ becomes notes to a song that were not really heard before. ‘Grace’ becomes life itself when there was none…”Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now I’m found. Was blind, but now, I see.” The vision becomes so clear. The vision that ‘I am a son, (or daughter), and He’s my Father…forever. He always has been, but I never ‘saw’ before.

“But what if I fail Him?” “What if I can’t do it right?” These are the fears that kept me away so long – but finally the sound, the sweet sound of His amazing grace:

“t’was grace that taught my heart to fear, and grace my fears RELIEVED! How precious did that grace appear…”‘ Precious has new meaning. Nothing was ‘precious’ before-but now ‘precious’ is that grace:

“How precious did that grace appear, the hour I first believed.” But even if all the past is forgot and my life today is new, there are ‘many dangers and toils and snares’ that I have yet to walk through.

But it will be different now. Because of His amazing grace, that is how I will get through: “Through many dangers, toils and snares I have already come. ‘Tis grace that brought me safe thus far, and grace will lead me…home.”

Maybe, ‘my Father in heaven’ as been waiting this good, long while…perhaps it’s time to go home and let Him in – for now -and someday, we will be part of a celebration that lasts- FOREVER: “When we’ve been there 10,000 years, bright shining as the Sun. We’ve no less days to sing His praise, then when we first begun!”

This is when the story begins, when we ‘first begun’ to sing His praise, all because of His Amazing Grace!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

