Still inspired by Handel who was inspired by Is. 40…

Posted over a year ago that I was writing a book, (of which I still am, but in much different form than first intended), I wrote about inspiration:

“Isn’t your entire being moved during Handel’s Messiah? When you hear, ‘Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!…’ it’s as if “the glory of the Lord has been revealed, And all flesh see it together.” (Is. 40:5). It’s heavenly, it’s glorious, it’s invigorating, it’s hopeful.

Well, did you know that it is written that George Frideric Handel was greatly inspired by Isaiah 40, “Comfort, yes, comfort My people!” says your God.
Perhaps these words spoke volumes to him because at this time his music was perceived as ‘outdated’ and he was thought of as an ‘old fogey’, after having great success at the Royal Academy of Music which he had opened years before. The story is told that Handel shut his door in London on Aug. 22, 1741 and started composing music to these words, “Comfort, yes, comfort My people.” After 23 days, Handel’s Messiahwas birthed.

Have you read Isaiah 40? Well, they come after 39 chapters of “woes”. Isaiah 40 comes after 39 chapters of judgement,
“Comfort, yes comfort My people!” says, your God. Speak comfort to Jerusalem, and cry out to her, that her warfare is ended, that her iniquity is pardoned; For she has received from the Lord’s hand
double,(or forgiveness) for all her sins.”

These words have inspired me, as they did Handel.
You see,after suffering great amounts of trial,(in my opinion) the Lord showed me His hand, it was nail pieced and He offers forgiveness for all our sins. So I feel in some strange way that just as John the Baptist fulfilled these verses in Isaiah in Jesus’ day, that God uses our voices today, to be “a voice crying in the wilderness: saying “Prepare the way of the LORD;”

So I close my door, so to speak, (in the mini moments of time God permits!) to complete a book that I am writing called, “God’s Hand.”
“Why?” you might ask.  Well, I think Isaiah 40: 6,7,and 8 answer the question: The voice said, “Cry out!” And he said, “What shall I cry?” “All flesh is grass, And all its loveliness is like the flower of the field. The grass withers, the flower fades, Because the breath of the LORD blows upon it; Surely the people are grass. The grass withers, the flower fades, But the word of our God stands forever.”

In other words, God  has shown me that life is short! And  in that short life, God allows some tough times to blow, but in the wind and torrent, His Word becomes my life, when before they were,…well, just words…and in the storm or trouble is the wonderful discovery that His word stands forever -yesterday, today and forever.
I write because God has spoken, “Lift up your voice with strength, Lift it up, be not afraid; Say to the cities of Judah, “Behold your God!”

So the book IS being written, but not as I originally thought. The book is many books, and each book in and of itself has one theme: “Comfort, yes, comfort My people!” Says your God. (is. 40:1), “Fear not, for I am with you;…I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”(Is. 41:10). “Behold, My Servant whom I uphold,” (Is. 42:1),”Sing, O barren…” (Is. 54:1), yes, one theme- God is with us!

Are you inspired to dream, and then inspired to flesh it out? Yes, that comes from God. We don’t always have 20 some odd days to close the door and focus with that intensity,  as Handel did back then, but if it takes 2,000 and some odd days, we must continue to be inspired by God’s breath that He breathes on us each day, and be filled by His Spirit in which the work will ultimately come,…

‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ Says the LORD of hosts. (Zech. 4:6),…

and each write our own stories . I am inspired to write of God’s gracious, preserving and loving Hand in and through our lives. We can all do that, each day; some with pencil in hand, others with their hands and feet- and for some, like my dear friend Jenny, (of whom my first little book  of letters has been written), (who couldn’t write, who  couldn’t walk, who couldn’t move one muscle), but she wrote the story of victorious faith!

Let’s continue to be inspired! Can you hear the chorus? “Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Halle-lu-jah!”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

