He’s watching our tents, but He’s preparing a mansion for us…

So, when you look at the cover of most old Bibles, they are very plain, usually black with just two large words, HOLY BIBLE, usually all in caps. So many people think that the words inside are boring as well. Well, they just don’t know.  Yes,  there are chapters upon chapters in the Old Testament of an  intricate pattern of the Tabernacle,(or the Tent in which God would dwell with His people), describing curtains and furniture, etc., but the crazy thing is – underneath those very ugly outside coverings of the Tent, everything inside was either covered with gold or hammered with pure gold! I cannot even imagine the beauty. It must have been heavenly.

And it is interesting, but I often marvel that the bodies we live in here on earth are thought of as ‘tents’ in the Bible. These amazing ‘bodies’ of ours are called ‘tents’! How we  spend quite a bit of  our time ‘fixing it up’, and dressing it all up, and  keeping it all in shape, educating  it, etc., only to find that something seems missing…there’s still a void, an emptiness…

But God is watching. He sees our ‘tents’. And He waits, He patiently waits for that day,  when the invitation has been made to invite Him to come in and dwell in our ‘tent’. What a glorious day  that is, it is reported that angels in heaven celebrate that day. It is a memorable ‘born-again’ birthday! It’s sad that that term has been misunderstood so, but it really sums it up – a celebration day with the angels because a life that was born on a particular day finally acknowledges the One who gave them breath, so that He may breathe on him ‘new life’ in the Spirit, for all eternity!

God purifies, He cleanses, He loves and fills and shines- but our tents don’t last forever, and because of this ‘sin-cursed’ world  – we get sick and our bodies, I mean, ‘our tents ‘ break and fall apart. But what is most glorious is, often at that time, His glory shines even greater out of the brokenness. But it’s not all ‘peachy-keen’, our tents feel pain, sorrow, and pain, and discomfort, and, did I say, pain? Well, the Word of God, the ‘boring on the outside book ‘ is all  gold on the inside, for such a  time as this:

“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. “In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.” John 14:1-2.

There is no mention of ‘tents’ in heaven! He’s preparing a mansion for us! Our heavenly bodies are going to be amazing, and Jesus tells us, “And If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.” John 14:3.

He has gone, that is true, but He is coming again…but in the time being, while in this ‘tent’ I need assurance, I need to know He’s nearby…and I am sure we all do. Let me show you more gold, Psalm 139-it tells us straight: (Amplified Version, with references), “O LORD, You have searched me (thoroughly) and have known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off.  You sift and search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways.

For there is not a word in my tongue (still unuttered), but lo, O Lord, You know it altogether. {Heb. 4:13}

  You have beset me and shut me in behind and before, and have laid Your hand upon me. Your infinite knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high above me, I cannot reach it.

 Where could I go from Your Spirit? Or where could I flee from Your presence? If I ascend up into Heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol (the place of the dead), behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, Even there shall Your hand lead me, and Your right hand hold me.

If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the night shall be the only light about me, Even  the darkness hides nothing from You, but the night shines as the day;

the darkness and the light are both alike to You. (Dan. 2:22)

For You did form my inward parts, You did knit me together in my mother’s womb. I will confess and praise You, for You are fearfully wonderful, and for the awesome wonder of my birth! Wonderful are Your works, and that my inner self knows right well…’

God never leaves me or you.  Before even time began, He knew my name and yours. He sees every tear that falls from my eyes, He knows yours as well. He does. He knows that these tents of ours don’t last forever. But if He dwells in our tents – because we’ve given Him an invitation in prayer, these tents will metamorph…

yes, these tents…become mansions! “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” (John 14:27).

Have you personally asked Jesus Christ to come into your life? He offers life eternal. Your debt of sin, all the wrong and guilt in your life has been paid for on the cross. Look to Him, acknowledge Him, ask forgiveness of all your sin and He will and He does come in and dwell in your ‘tent’, only to breath new life…and yes, He also is preparing a place for us!

Amen to that! Amen to that!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “He’s watching our tents, but He’s preparing a mansion for us…”

Leave a Reply

