You are the Potter, we are…the clay.

There is a verse that breathes life into death, that waters a ground that is dry and upset.“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God and are the called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28. At times we must throw ourselves on this very same verse, and remember what we’re made of, and hold on to what’s true.

How can we believe, when what we can see with our eyes, the picture is not good. How can ‘we know’ that ‘all things work together for good’, how can that be?
God gives us pictures, God helps us see, even in this broken world, God tells His story to whoever will read. So, I admit that at times the Bible can seem very dry, but if You ask God to help you understand, He opens His word with pictures and truth and the truth never lies!

Five hundred and twenty years before it actually came true, the words were prophesied exactly as it came. Zechariah was given ‘the word of the Lord, and he penned, “And the Lord said unto me, ” Throw it to the potter”-that princely price they set on me. So I took the thirty pieces of silver and threw them into the house of the LORD for the potter.” Zechariah 11:13. We’ve heard the story, what comes to mind? When we hear 30 pieces of silver we remember Judas almost every time. We think of ‘potter’s field’ and we think worthless and dry with all it’s broken vessels all chipped and marred, this is worthless ground where broken pots are found.

“Throw it to the potter”, what is His name? His name is Jesus, yes His blood was sold for 30 pieces of silver – the property was bought. 520 years before it even came to be, the words were written of God’s purchase of you and me.

God is the Potter, the field was purchased. Of course it is filled with broken and cracked and messed up clay, but God can use the very mess that we are, are remold and shape us in ‘twice baked’ pieces. He can mold us and make us and breathe in us life, by the water of the Spirit, His Word of Life.
God is the Potter, we are the clay. The field has been purchased for this very day.

Today is the first day of the rest of our lives, we can’t look at the past, we have to leave that aside. It’s filled with cracks and spots and hardness, it’s true, but God makes all things work together for good. Let us yield now to, the Spirit of God and walk in a manner worthy to Him who loves us so fully and reshapes us again.

Trust Him, receive Him, rest patiently in Him. He knows what we’re made of, clay is just not that smart. But if we forgive ourselves for just being ‘clay’ and realize the Potter just wants His own way, but don’t be so fret-ful and angry about that- The Potter knows best, He’s got vision we don’t. So rest in His gentle and loving great hands, oh clay, be renewed, reshaped, and all beautiful again.

Ps. 40:1-3, “I waited patiently for the LORD; And He inclined to me, And heard my cry. He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, Out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, And established my steps. He has put a new song in my mouth-Praise to our God; Many shall see it and fear, and will trust in the LORD.”“Sacrifice and offering You did not desire; My ears You have opened; Burnt offering and sin offering You did not require. Then I said. “Behold, I come; In the scroll of the Book it is written of me. I delight to do Your will, O my God, and Your law is within my heart.”Ps. 40:6-8.

Jesus, you purchased the field by Your sacrifice that was made, You delighted in God and His will You did. “Lord, mold me and shape me, and make me new. I want to be, Lord, my desire is to be like You. Thank you that You never give up on me, even if I am all broken and marred and messed up. You do make all things work together for good, can You ‘twice bake’ me and do wonders again, I sing a new song, for now and again. You are the Potter, and i am the clay. I rest in Your great hands, in them I will stay.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

