my child’s words?…and a mama’s prayer…

words my youngest son (age 10), text to me on my phone, (not to be mistaken for written with a pen!)

“The Lord is my rock and my salvation. He knows when I’m sitting down and when I’m standing up. He is like the water of the world stretching throughout the earth.
O how amazing you are Lord of Israel.

You comfort me when I’m disappointed.

You cool me down when I’m fiery.

You are the healing in my heart. thank you for your love!” (Matthew Rypkema, text to his mama on March 13, 2014).

I think perhaps God gave my dear boy these words…to remember continually. What a surprise they were to me when I received them on my phone. A moment, that I think God wants me to remember to encourage me and to encourage him! Praise be to God, He is mighty and powerful and He speaks mighty to His children whom He loves so much. So, this mama is reminded time and time again, God has His ‘keeping hand’ on the children that we pray so intently for. And this mama, who is a ‘hoarder of words’, who wrote down these amazing words text to me some months ago, will simply remind him,…his own words!

God, you are an amazing God, Your ways are beyond our finding out! So, this mama, who doesn’t know what she is doing most of the time, and makes more mistakes than ‘getting it right’, will keep on ending her each and every day with, “Search me O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there is an wicked or hurtful way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139:23,24, Amplified).And Lord, this is my prayer for the day:

“Lead us mamas Lord, in Your way…so we can gently lead our often challenging children,(of which each and every child fits under), by example. Put a guard, O Lord over our tongues! And help us lead them to the One who cares, the One who sees it all, the One who hears it all, the One who is amazingly in love with us even though He knows everything about us,even our very thoughts,and despite all of that, the One who will never leave us, He is the One who is able. He never gives up on anyone!

Lead us mamas, dear Lord, to be ‘very patient and kind’, to not be ‘irritable or touchy’,to love like You do, to be loyal ‘no matter what the cost’, to always believe in him or her, and always expect the best, and Lord, that you will help us mamas to ‘believe all things’, to ‘hope all things’, and ultimately, ‘bear all things’…'( i Cor.13) ‘not by might, nor by power, but by Your Spirit’ (Zech. 4:6). Oh Lord we pray! In Jesus’ name, Amen”.

And for some reason, after writing all of this down on this day in July, the Lord has comforted my heart with the words, “Everything’s gonna be all right in Christ!” and today, I believe this with all of my heart! Mama’s, “everything is going to be all right in Christ! We can always have reason to sing! Always.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

