a whole different kind of giant…

Way back in 2012, my very first post in the blog that my son set up for me in which I collect the words that God speaks to me and the reminders the Holy Spirit gives to me, I wrote:
“…Second Samuel chapter 21 ends like this: “Now it happened afterward that there was again a battle with the Philistines…”vs. 20 “Yet again there was war at Gath…” (remember Gath? That is where the giant Goliath was from) vs. 21. “So when he defied Israel”, (you would have thought they knew better than to fight the armies of Isreal after a teenaged boy simply throws a sling shot at their other champion and chops off his head!), “Jonathan, son of Shimea, David’s brother killed him…”

And when we are challenging ourselves to read through our Bible, we read through many battles, then we go off and have to face… our own giants for the day.
I just have to remember that they are the little ‘g’ giants compared to my Big ‘G’ God just like David did. Here is how chapter 22 begins: “And David spoke to the LORD the words of this song in the day that the LORD had delivered him out of the hand of all his enemies…(I really like the word ‘all’ here!) and he said, ‘The LORD is my rock, and my fortress and my deliverer; The God of my rock; in Him I will trust; He is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my Savior, You save me from violence. I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised. So shall I be saved from my enemies.” And I love this about God, this is also Psalm 18- so we can read it again, just in case we forget that our giants are nothing next to God!

But God is not only my rock, my fortress and my deliverer – all evidences of strength and might and power…He is also my ‘Rose of Sharon’, my ‘Lily of the valleys'(Song of Solomon 2:1), the essence of beauty and love. God is love.”He brought me to his banqueting house, and his banner over me was love- for love waved as a protecting and comforting banner over my head when I was near him.” (Song of solomon 2:4, Amplified).

He knows – those that know that He is love and that He is with them and that He lives and abides in their lives – that we are His ‘lilies among the thorns’. Oh, the thorns, the thorns! Thorns scratch, thorns are sharp and come up from nowhere! Thorns HURT , yet we are ‘His lilies’. We are! We are His ‘lilies among the thorns’. He is love, and the the thorns…I believe, are the lack there-of.

Didn’t the Beatles write a hit song so many years ago that sums it all up: “All we need is love. All we need is love. All we need is love, love…love is all we need.”

The giant?…It’s not outside, it lies right inside – that cold, hard, love-less, ‘self-full’ heart. But our ‘Rose of Sharon’, our Lily of the vallies’, our God of beauty and tenderness, He speaks: “O my dove, [while you are there] in seclusion of the clefts in the solid rock, in the sheltered and secret place of the cliff, let me see your face, let me hear your voice, for your voice is sweet and your face is lovely.” (Song of Solomon 2:14, Amplified).
He loves to see our faces, God loves to hear our voices. This truth makes us respond like the maiden in Song of Solomon 2:15,”[My heart was touched and I fervently sang to him my desire]”.

Do we love our Lord? Do we let Him see our face, and hear our voices? Oh, how we need to love God more – but instantly, there comes a warning of some kind, “Take us the foxes, the ‘little foxes’ that spoil the vineyards [of our love], for our vineyards are in blossom…”(song of Solomon 2:15).

The enemy, the giant, isn’t so ‘giant’ after all. This giant is a ‘little fox’ that creeps in and ‘weasels’ his way into the vineyard to destroy the ‘fruit!’. ‘But the fruit of the Spirit is love’ (Gal. 5:22). The giant, the ‘little fox’, is…

‘a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep – so shall your poverty come on you like a robber, and your need like an armed man.” (Proverbs. 6:10).Yes, we go on, much like the maiden again in the Song, “My beloved is mine, and I am his: he feedeth among the lilies. Until the day break, and the shadows flee away, turn, my beloved, and be like a roe or a young hart upon the mountains of Bether…”(Song of Sol. 2:16,17). You see, we say, “God, I love you, You are mine – You go, and I will sleep here a bit and then come away with You…”

Oh my! The ‘little foxes’ come and ruin the fruit. All of a sudden,…love is gone! The heart, our human hearts, they are ‘desperately wicked’ the Bible tells us, and in our separation from our ‘Rose of Sharon, all we sense are…THORNS! “Where is the love?” we cry. suddenly we experience the ‘lack of love!’

Now we realize the coldness and the night of our hearts. There is no love for our husband, no love for our children, only irritable-ness and strife! The cold chill of ‘night’ surrounding our hearts makes us delay no longer. The Song continues, “By night on my bed I sought him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.” (Song of Sol. 3:1). “I will rise now, and go about the city in the streets, and in the broad ways I will seek him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.” (3:2).

“Where is love?” our hearts cry! God hears our cry, He answers in His word: “You shall seek Me and find Me when you shall search for Me with all your heart,” the Lord says in Jeremiah 29:13.

It is then that the maiden finds her love, when she sought Love with all of her heart “…but I found him whom my soul loveth: I held him, and would not let him go,…”(Song of Sol 3:4).

We must not let the ‘giant’, or the ‘little fox’ of ‘self’ destroy our ‘fruit’. The love…”Oh God, warm our cold, hard hearts in all You are, make our hearts soft and tender again…
toward You, toward our mates, toward our children, toward our families, toward our co-workers, toward the stranger.”
And He, our Husband, our Maker, He responds, “How fair is thy love, my sister, my spouse!”…(Song of Sol 4:10) In other words, “You my dear Bride, you are a lily, and while you live here on this earth, yes, you are a lily among the thorns, but draw near to Me, and I will draw near to you, I am the rose of Sharon, the Lily of the vallies. I AM…Love.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

