Have we forgotten the child’s song “Our God is so Big,…? Remember now the songs!

The small children go about singing. Some sing, “My God is so big, so strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do!…

But what happens to us?

Oh, how we want to be happy! But many times, we just don’t make the choices that would bring happiness.

It can be as simple as, “If I only had new shoes, then I would be happy,” or a bit more complex, “If I only had a new job, then I would be happy!”, “If I only had more money, then I would be happy!”. And it can get just plain bad, “If I only had a different…” (I don’t even dare fill in the blank this time, but we humans can destroy ourselves with our SELF.

What is wrong with us, when so quickly our mind sets us on a quick spiral downhill? Everything becomes way too complicated – suddenly we can be obsessed with trouble, and not the ‘joy of the Lord’. What happens to us when we get older and so mature – and so complicated? We sometimes forget the foundational things,that the Lord wants us to remember everyday.

But God, He gave us the remedy. He made things so simple that even a child can instruct us in the way. Even a 5 year old, that has the Lord can give wise counsel with all that they know.

We need to listen again to a child’s song:

“My God is so big, so strong and so mighty – there’s nothing my God cannot do, for you!”

“The Lord is my shepherd I’ll walk with Him always, always, always, I’ll walk with Him always…”

“Come into my heart, come into my heart, come into my heart, Lord Jesus…”

“Beautiful, beautiful, Jesus is beautiful. And Jesus makes makes beautiful things of my life. carefully, touching me, causing my eyes to see, that Jesus makes beautiful, things of my life.”

“Cute,” you and I might be thinking. but Jesus is thinking totally different! This isn’t just cute to Him, this is life! This isn’t ‘little’ stuff! This is the BIG stuff. We can remember what He said, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God.”Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it. ” Mark 10:14,15.

This is the BIG stuff, this is simple, but the choice must be made, and it is far from easy!

God, can we come to You as a child? Now when things are so complicated and full of trouble?

He says, “Come.” He is our Father, He is our Lord. He has proclaimed His name to us,

“The LORD, the LORD God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abounding in goodness and truth, keeping mercy…forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin…” Exodus 34:6,7.

He calls us as His children, we need to come as a child.

Yes, our God is big, so strong and so mighty, there is nothing our God cannot do!

But don’t you see it? The children come singing. They skip and sing and trust. We must worship God as they do. That is what changes our mind! Do you want power to change? Worship Your Father, worship the Son, worship the Spirit – 3 in one!

We are not the same after we worship God. There is more power in worshiping God than many counseling sessions! (Exclamation point.)

Yes, Psalm 101: 1 says, “I will sing of mercy and justice; To You, O LORD, I will sing praises.”

and the very next verse says, ” I will behave wisely in a perfect way. Oh, when will You come to me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.” How can we walk in our house in a perfect way? By singing of His mercy and His justice.

This is how we can behave wisely! Today, let us choose to ‘cast our cares to Him because He cares for us’ 1 Peter 5:7,

and let us turn to the Psalms and ‘change our minds’.

“Unto You, O Lord, do I bring my life.” Ps. 25:1, Amplified.

We always have choices. And God didn’t leave us as orphans. He didn’t leave us to figure it out on our own. He has given us His Holy Spirit. He has given us His word. How do I know that my God is so Big, so Strong and so Mighty? Because the Bible tells me so: (Psalm 25, Amplified),
“Unto You, O Lord, do I bring my life.” (Today,and everyday as a child, because You are My Father!)
“O my God, I trust, lean on, rely on and am confident in You; let me not be put to shame or [my hope in You] be disappointed; let not my enemies triumph over me.” (my enemy once again of discontent, fear, anger, and doubt!)

“Show me Your ways, O Lord; teach me Your paths. Guide me in Your truth and faithfulness and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; for You [You only and altogether] do I wait (expectantly) all the day long…” (Ps. 25:4,5.)

Truly, My God is so big, so strong and so mighty; why do I fret and worry?

“The secret [of the sweet, satisfying companionship] of the Lord have they…”
and isn’t this what we so desire, sweet, satisfying companionship? It comes in the Lord, (Him only and altogether!)
…have they who fear – revere and worship – Him.”

O come, let us worship the Lord, as children, TODAY, let us worship God; in our kitchens, and in our livingrooms, in our front yard and back yard, even in the garage, at home, at school, work and wherever we are – because God changes us completely…

when we worship Him!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

