Oh, but we don’t always walk in the light…’

“If we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, …” (1 john 1:7) .

But we miss the mark so often! Even each day!! In my marriage, with my children, behind the wheel in my car, I have moments where I can most definitely view that I am ‘not’ at that moment in time , walking ‘in the light!’ “HELP me Lord!” I cry! And even more than a help, God is a very present help! (Ps. 46:10).

Could it be the most trying days and weeks, wait, that is too much time(!), could it be those ever-present ‘trying moments’ are doing their work to bring us to the ‘very present Help?’

In my cry, “Help Lord!” , the Holy Spirit did just that! Don’t ask me how , I am just declaring He did! And I must write the words if Jihn here from his first letter in chapter 2 verse1: “my dear children…” ( I’m just relieved I can be the child and God can be ‘our Father), “My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin.” (OK, I’m in His word and discover, yes, I still sin, but take a look at this):” But if anybody does sin…” (I think that means ‘everybody!), ” we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense – Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.” (1 john 2:1).

Now THAT is a present help! And there’s more,”He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, but not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.”(1John 2:2).

Father God: “Jesus, my Son. My child, Toni’s thoughts are chaotic and angry, at times impulsive and arrogant and not in the ‘light of love’ and ‘tempted to doubt and fret and dis- believe at other moments, are You willing to go down and pay the penalty of death for her sin? Your blood will cover it all and if she acknowledges Me, she will be clean and her sin covered”

Jesus:”I am willing”.
My prayer:
” Lord, thank you that ‘Your love never fails, even though mine sometimes does. I do want to walk ‘in You’ as I sign my letters, but You know my steps. But I’m so thankful that I can call Your name and You will answer and You take me by the hand , God’s Hand, in mine and with ‘new mercies’ every morning’ You show me The way’ in which I should walk. I love You Jesus ’cause You First lived me.” In Jesus name, amen.

and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son, cleanses us from every sin,” (1john1:7).

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

