“I don’t get the message.”

If these are words that come from your lips, then Ask The Lord. He answers in ways supernatural! C.H. Spurgeon penned a poem, (even though in King James -style,) that paints the picture of how it’s God’s work, not ours:

“Reason’s glimmering light is vain
Till thy Spirit I receive;
He thy language must explain
He must give me to believe.

Then thy wisdom’s gift is mine
When thou dost the truth reveal;
Then I see the Lamb divine,
All the mysteries unseal.

All the seven seals he brakes,
Every truth of grace makes known;
All his children wise he makes,
But their wisdom is his own.”
(CH Spurgeon, Spurgeon’s Devotional Bible).

Are we asking God? “Ask. And it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” (Matthew 7:7). That’s what the Bible says. “But it’s just not enough, Bible reading doesn’t do anything for me.” You might be convincing yourself.

Is your appetite gone for things of The Lord? Do you not feel ‘hungry’ or ‘thirsty’ for Him and His message? Ask, yes, ask Him, He will restore.

You see, when I had to actively fight a cancer growing in me, and poison was put in to kill the bad, a lot of the ‘good’ was destroyed too. I had no appetite. Just to eat anything was an effort. But I needed nourishment, whether I ‘felt’ like it or not!

I didn’t want to eat or drink- I had no appetite. But friends and family prayed for me, from all over the place, from many different churches, they ‘Asked’ , and they ‘Sought mercy’ for me from God, and they ‘Knocked’ on God’s door! And God did the work. He gave me hunger, for food and for Him.
And guess what? You might not get the message,and you might have lost your appetite for God, but you are being prayed for,by family and friend, but most importantly, by Jesus, even today:

Before Jesus had to face the agonies of the cross, He prayed to His Father. And He prayed then for us, and He prays even now: “I pray for them. I do not pray for the world but for those whom You have given Me, for they are Yours.”(John 17:9). You might not really ‘feel’ like you are one of His, perhaps, but maybe you haven’t been asking Him to show you!

Ask Him.“Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” (James 4:8). Ask Him to give you your appetite back! He’ll ‘explain His language.’ He will give to you ‘wisdom’s gift!’ You will ‘see the lamb divine.’ He will ‘unseal’ all the mysteries’! He will ‘make known to you every truth of Grace’. And if you don’t know if you are His child, Ask Him to receive you as one, and He cleanses and makes new! ‘Ask, seek, and knock and the door will be opened to you.’ Ask from your starving and thirsty heart, He doesn’t care about the right words!

God answers and restores. He restores appetite! How do I know? Because God did this for me. Hey, and I was weak, broken and sick- but others prayed for me- and my appetite came back! You are prayed for. Jesus Himself has prayed for you. This is ‘food for thought’ today!

There is a verse quite simple as a ‘taste’ of His message. This is a bit salty and sweet at the same time: ” Yes,I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with loving kindness I have drawn you.”(Jer. 31:3).

“I can’t believe that message right now in my life with all the loss and pain, ” you might be saying.
God will give you this day ‘your daily bread’. Just ask, seek and knock! The door will open to you. He will break all of the ‘seven seals’,’every truth of grace, He’ll make known.’

C.H Spurgon encourages on: “It is in the cellar of affliction that the fine wine of the kingdom is stored.”(from beside Still waters.) Don’t ever give up on God. He has a message He is ready to serve you each and every day His daily Bread. Don’t you think you might feel a little hungry now?

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled. Matthew 5:6).

Shall we join together in these last days to pray for the lost children of the world. Oh, how Jesus loves them so and has such wonderful nourishment of love in His word to supply our hungry souls. Praying together, “Lord Jesus, may the lost children of the world, young and old, feel their hunger and thirst and discover that it can only be satisfied in You. Draw them to You continually with Your lovingkindness. And Lord, help us to be ‘blessings’ so others can ‘taste and see’ that You Lord are good!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

