written by a teenager…

A young 16 year old penned these words, “My Jesus I love Thee; I know Thou art mine. For Thee all the follies of sin I resign. My gracious Redeemer, My Savior art Thou. If ever I loved Thee, My Jesus, ’tis now.” Yes, these are words to a hymn written in 1864, but would you guess, that God would touch a 16 year old in such a way to write those words?

For me, I’m not a youth anymore, and ‘grace has taught my heart to fear and grace my fears relieved!,yes, ‘through many dangers,toils and snares I have already gone’; so, for me, and perhaps for you, you feel you could pen those exact words written so long ago,
“My Jesus I love Thee; I know Thou art mine…” Thank you William Ralph Featherston for writing that age old hymn.

But today, the Lord keeps bringing to my heart the bottom of the second verse, “I love thee for wearing the thorns on Thy brow, If ever I loved Thee, My Jesus, ’tis now.”

“I love Thee for wearing the thorns on Thy brow…” God, this earthly walk is so thorny and it hurts so bad at times. I love thee for wearing the thorns on Thy brow. And what amazes me so much, is that since you did just that, I will one day sing with a glittering crown on my brow.

So, while we continue to dwell in this land and feed on Your faithfulness, I will take a breath and sing this hymn as if it was penned with my own hand. How about you? Join me:
“I love Thee, Because Thou has first loved me, And purchased my pardon On Calvary’s tree. I love Thee for wearing the thorns On Thy brow, If ever I loved Thee, My Jesus, ’tis now.
“I’ll love Thee in life, I will love Thee in death, And praise Thee As long as Thou lendest me breath; And say when the death dew Lies cold on my brow, “If ever I loved Thee, My Jesus ’tis now.”
“In mansions of glory And endless delight, I’ll ever adore Thee In heaven so bright. I’ll sing with the glittering crown On my brow, “If ever I loved Thee, My Jesus, ’tis now.”

You and I- we were just brought so near to our Jesus, in that He inhabits these praises, by a 16 year old! This earth that we dwell in grows dark and grey at times, when the colors don’t gleam and the flowers don’t shine, because of pain and cuts this world dishes out, but this youth reminded us, heaven’s the place you can call home.

So, we will ‘love Thee in life, and we will love Thee in death, and praise Thee As long as Thou lendest me breath’, even through the pain, we make the choice, and thanks to this young teenager, he reminds us why: ‘In mansions of glory and endless delight, I’ll ever adore Thee in heaven so bright. I’ll sing with the glittering crown On my brow,’ and we all can say today and even right now: “If ever I loved Thee, My Jesus, ’tis now.

God blesses the children! Yes, God bless the children Lord. Use them in these last days to teach us ol’ guys about Your great love in which You love us! God bless the children Lord.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “written by a teenager…”

Leave a Reply

