Speaking about Jesus Paid It All…

The Bible says, ‘don’t be drunk with wine, in which is excessiveness and foolishness, but be filled with the Spirit, speaking to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs.’ (Eph. 5:19).
Wine is a man made pleasure, but the Spirit offers to enrapture us in the power and love of God as we remind ourselves of the truths of God’s Word.
The verse does continue, however, and mention ‘singing and making melody in your hearts to the Lord.’ But we are told to be filled with the Spirit and ‘speak’ in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs.

Do we really spend time ‘speaking together in Hymns?’
All I know is, now that I have been thinking about the words to the hymns, I want to talk about them.

So, thinking on the first verse of the familiar hymn, Jesus Paid it All, I didn’t get very far when I began to think of the first five words: “I hear the Savior say, …” and then I began to wonder, “Do I hear the Savior say anything?”
In the course of the day, do I hear what the Savior says? First thing in the morning, am I hearing ANYTHING the Savior has to say? And what about when everything is hectic at noon? And do I even know my name by the evening, let alone hear the Savior say…”?
If we have ears to hear what the Lord has to say, this will make all the difference in our own personal world; (and everyone we come in contact with through the course of the day as well!)
This hymn reminds us how the Lord speaks:
“I hear the Savior say,
Thy strength indeed is small,
child of weakness
Watch and Pray-
find in Me – thine all in all.”
The Lord is so gentle and kind in this hymn. The Lord IS gentle and kind!
The world is NOT! Oh how we need to be speaking and singing in our hearts the hymns!

Our strength is small, we are children of weakness. He reminds us to ‘watch and pray,’ and find in Him everything we need.
Do we hear Him say, “I will never leave you or forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5. Or when we first sit up in our beds, do we hear His words, “I am the Lord… (You are ) precious in my sight… and I have loved you.” Is. 43:3,4.
Or, when we wake up feeling like we just need 5 more minutes sleep, do we hear His voice, “Awake, you who sleep, Arise from the dead,…”( Eph. 5:14 ).

Have you messed up? Do you feel you are chasing the wind? “Child of weakness, watch and pray, find in Me – thine all in all.”
And the chorus tells us why we can make Him our all in all; it’s transforming:
“Jesus paid it all,
all to Him I owe.
Sin had left a crimson stain
He washed it white as snow!”
How very complete!
He paid a debt He did not owe, we owe a debt we cannot pay. The entire human race has a common need, and that is …
forgiveness. It’s covered, paid in full in Him:
And now we ‘know that we are not redeemed with corruptible things, like silver and gold, from our aimless conduct…but with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot.’ 1Peter 1:18,19.
“Jesus paid it all!
All to Him I owe.
Sin had left a crimson stain – He washed it white as snow!”
How blessed we become when we remember what our Savior says.
We are not greatly moved. Even though circumstances aren’t what we desire, we have abundant life, we have hope.
“Lord, now indeed I find, Thy power and Thine alone,
can change a lepers heart and melt a heart of stone.”
What is impossible with men is possible with God, “Then I will give them one heart, and I will put a new spirit within them, and take the stony heart out of their flesh, and give them a heart of flesh…” Ezekiel 11:17.
This is power. This is hope. And, I am convinced that this is why we are to speak to one another in hymns.

What if we are facing our last days on this earth. In Him we have forgiveness of sin, we have hope of eternal life, and our inward man is renewed,
“And now before the Throne, I stand in Him complete
Jesus died my soul to save, my lips shall still repeat,
“Jesus paid it all,
All to Him I owe.
Sin had left a crimson stain
He Washed it White as Snow!“
My lips shall still repeat, forever and ever and ever and ever! There is no death for the believer. The song continues.

May we ‘make melody in our heart to the Lord,’ no matter what the day may bring, because we each have a big debt to pay, and…
Jesus paid it ALL!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

