“You will be set free.”

“You will be set free. Believe and sing a new song to Me.” God speaks.

“Why do You want a new song?” I wonder aloud in my wrestling heart as I look at Psalm 96 as just words on the page. Then caught by surprise, He answered…
“My child, I want the song to come from you. I want the song that you sing to come from the mind of your heart and the depth of your soul – to be for Me. That is the new song, and it is THAT song that will set you free. Let it all go, all the junk that keeps brewing, all the thoughts that your thinking, pour out your heart and all that’s inside. I’m here to listen and long to hear your voice.”

He speaks even more: “Don’t you see that the song that you’re singing will change it’s tone, as I ‘tune your heart to sing of My grace.’ From a minor key to a major one. Yes, I seek you, not the other way around! I have sought you My child – to lift you off this ground.
Sing a new song! No more ‘wandering from the throne of God.’ I AM here to rescue you from the dangers of your mind – sing a new song, but this time of My blood. Sing ‘nothing but the blood of Jesus’, sing it true and you will discover…”

“But there’s nothing new about that ol’ song.”

“Oh, yes, it’s new – when it comes from…you.” Sing it my child. Sing a’new-old’ song then: “Prone to wander, Lord I feel it. Prone to leave the God I love. Here’s my heart Lord, take and seal it – seal it for Thy courts above.”

“I can’t do it, You see it all.”

“Don’t you see, that when the song comes from you – from all that you are, of which I can see – but the song, which is new, which finally comes flowing, releasing all those dark thoughts from the tight grip of your heart, and you realize your hand in not empty at all, but it holds the key…that sets you free, when you worship Me.”

“I love you so much my child. Oh, how I love to hear your voice. I can’t hear the noise, but I can hear the praise. I’ve been waiting so long to lift you ‘like wings of eagles’ and to bring you a ‘peace like a river’ and to satisfy the thirst and fill your hungry soul. Sing Me a new song my child, make Me your King and you will discover you’ve had the key all along…when you finally take a breath to sing that new song!”

“Why are these words so difficult, so hard? I will say them, I will. I will agree with You Lord.”

“Here’s my song Lord, I come to You, even when I’m not sure what to do.  ‘Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it. Prone to leave the God I love. Take my heart Lord. Take a seal it. Seal it for Thy throne above.'”

Could it be true?  I hear the Lord weeping. “Jesus wept.”  We all know that word,  but this time it’s for me, this word is for only  me.

Through His weeping, He speaks,” How I love your voice… “How I love your voice!”
Let me see your countenance, Let me hear your voice. For your voice is sweet and your countenance is lovely.” (Song of Solomon 2:14)
“The LORD looks from heaven; He sees all the sons of men. From the place of His habitation He looks on all the inhabitants of the earth; He fashions their hearts individually; He considers all their works.”(Psalm 33:13-15).

“Sing to Him a new song…” Ps. 33:3! (Exclamation point, mine!) You will be set free, even if the new song is simply, “Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on ““You will be set free.””

  1. Reblogged this on Toni Rypkema and commented:

    Praying this year as we hear the old Christmas songs, that they become ‘as new’, as a new song, as life has been born a-new, daily, as our faith increases and our eyes and ears are opened to see and hear as never before, the songs of old. “Sing to Him a new song”, now that your heart has been ‘tuned’ to sing His grace.

Leave a Reply

