Looking Back only to discover, God is faithful all the time…

God has me writing, for myself actually, the things that He shows me in His word so that I can remember… Well, last year in May, I had many friends who were VERY SICK, or VERY AFFLICTED, so, I prayed and pleaded with the Lord for them, I read God’s word and I wrote. My friends were not healed on this earth, but they were healed! God did amazing things through their ‘fight to live’ and God poured out His grace on them and we all witnessed God’s love and a life of faith through them. God was glorified in every breath they breathed, even to the end. Jesus wore a crown of thorns, and these friends of mine, well, because they trusted in Him and His love for them, they are not dead- oh no! They live and wear a shiny crown…

But these friends of mine, they laid their glittering crowns at the feel of their King, and they are filled with joy!
I share today what the Lord gave me as I prayed for my dear ‘afflicted’ friends… God was in the midst of them, they were not greatly moved:

“Lord, we pray scripture, heal Your afflicted one!”
by tonirypkema

Lord, we pray for Your afflicted today , and we remind You that it is said in Your word that we are to
” pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.” James 5:16.

and that “the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up.” James 5:15.

Lord, we remind You, (not that You need reminding, but we do, to increase our faith in praying) of Your very own truth recorded by Asaph in Psalm 77:1,

“I cried out to God with my voice – to God with my voice; And He gave ear to me. “
Lord, You hear our prayers, because just as Asaph, we seek You,

“In the day of my trouble I sought the Lord; My hand was stretched out in the night without ceasing; My soul refused to be comforted. I remembered God, and was troubled; I complained, and my spirit was overwhelmed.” Selah. Psalm 77:2.

But what great assurance we have in You, in the blood of Jesus Christ that cleanses us from every sin. That Your word says,
“And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed.”James 5:15,16.

And Asaph was in anguish and he prayed and penned his prayer, and we will pray just as Asaph did in Psalm 77:10-11,
“This is my anguish; But I will remember the years of the right hand of the most High. I will remember the works of the LORD.”

And Lord, that is what we will do. So just like Moses reminded You at a time of his prayer,

“And consider that this nation is Your people.” Ex. 33:13.

We plead for Your people, Your afflicted. Moses pleaded for God’s presence in their journey so that it would be known to others that God’s people had found grace in His sight.

So we plead as well, “Lord, we come boldly before the throne of grace that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:16.
And LORD, You said to Moses after he had asked for Your presence and grace,

“I will also do this thing that you have spoken; for you have found grace in My sight, and I know you by name.” Exodus 33:17.

Moses’s next words were, “Please show me Your glory.”Exodus 33:18.

And Lord, we all know the story when Mary and Martha’s brother Lazarus had died, and You spoke words to Martha and said,
“Did I not say to you that if you would believe you would see the glory of God?” John 11:40.

And in our hearts we pray, ” Lord, we believe. Show us Your glory. Grant us grace, You know our name, Heal Your afflicted one!”

Yes, we know that Jesus had said to Martha, “Your brother will rise again.” John 11:23. And our reply is much like Martha’s,
“I know that he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day.”John 11:24.

and Jesus, we know and get our greatest comfort from Your next words, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. “And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die. Do you believe this?”

Yes, we answer Your words the same way Martha does, “Yes, Lord, I believe that You are the Christ, the Son of God, who is to come into the world.” John 11:27.

Our hearts ache, we pour out our complaint to You, “Lord, heal Your afflicted !”

And we think of this story, and that we can go back and read it over and over again in John 11. Jesus, You Yourself said, “Take away the stone.” And Martha was worried about the bad smell because her brother had been dead for four days already.

So Lord, we remind You of Your words, (and once again, not that You need reminding, but we do that our prayer will mixed with faith to believe,) “Father, I thank You that You have heard Me.”And I know that You always hear Me, but because of the people who are standing by I said this, that they may believe that You sent Me.” John 11:41,42.

And after this Lord, You cried out with a loud voice, “Lazarus come forth.”John 11:43.

Today, we plead with aching hearts, that You would cry with a loud voice for Your afflicted, whom You love, “Take away the stone.” “Life, come forth.”

This is our anguish, just as the Psalmist, and we will remember the works of the LORD. But Lord we will also remember that, “The LORD is righteous in all His ways, Gracious in all His works.”Ps. 145:17. We will remember that You are a gracious God, and that everything that You do is right. That is why we call You Lord. We can trust You as our Heavenly Father, and we pray, “Your Kingdom come, Your will be done.”

We pray, and we sing, “Be Thou My Vision, Be Thou My wisdom, Be Thou My battleshield, High King of Heaven, my victory won, may I reach heaven’s joy, bright heavens Son,

“Heart of my own heart, whatever befall, still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.”

In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

