Discouraged to Encourage by God’s word!

“What are the promises again?”

We seek rest. We’re tired. Our discouraged thoughts are out to ‘destroy!’

Our tired ‘tents’ need rest somewhere safe, somewhere solid. Sometimes, nothing makes sense. This is when we ask:

“The promises of God? What are they again?”

“The wise man built his house upon the Rock…” The Rock…the Rock…Can I just hide myself in the cleft of the Rock: “Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in Thee… Let the water and the  blood, From Thy wounded side which flowed, Be of sin the double cure, Save from wrath and make me pure.” (Augustus M. Toplady 1776).

Can I take refuge in a song?

Yes, there are times, in this sojourn, our ‘tents’ have been set in the wilderness, and we just ‘don’t know!’ “Remind us Lord, what are the blessings promised? Hide us Lord in the clefts of the Rock and speak, Your servants are listening…”

The stories are written,and we know that even John the Baptist had doubts and seem to be discouraged. John the Baptist, who even saw the heavens open, and the Holy Spirit descend like a dove and remain on the head of Jesus, and even proclaimed with his own lips, “Behold the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world,” (John 1:29), even this John the Baptist has recorded about him:

“And when John had heard in prison about the works of Christ, he sent two of his disciples and said to Him, “Are You the coming One, or do we look for another?”(Matthew 11:2,3).

John the Baptist had doubts! Even John the Baptist!
And Jesus answered and said to them, “Go and tell John the things which you heard and see. The blind receive their sight and the lame walk; the lepers are cleansed and the deaf hear; the dead are raised up and the poor have the gospel preached to them. “And blessed is he who is not offended because of Me.”(Matthew 11:4,5).

Yes, there are times, in this sojourn, our ‘tents’ have been set in the wilderness, and we just ‘don’t know!’ “Remind us Lord, what are the blessings promised? Hide us Lord, and speak, Your servants are listening…”

“I AM the blessing promised.  I don’t give you peace –  I AM peace: “Peace I leave with you. My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”(John 14:27).

Rest your ‘tent’ on Me. “The blind receive their sight and the lame walk” (Matthew 11:4).

I Am your strength, put ‘faith in Me’ on  – like a robe, let your lips speak truth and be changed from discouraged to courageous:   “I will love You, O LORD, my strength, the LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer…”(Ps. 18:1).
Is your health poor? “I will restore health to you…”  Do you have wounds, my child? “I will heal your wounds says the Lord…” (Jer. 30:17).

“I will put a song in your heart, a new song – one of thanksgiving:

“Thus says the Lord: Behold I will release from captivity the tents of Jacob, and have mercy on his dwelling places; the city shall be rebuilt on its own old mound-like site, and the palace shall be dwelt in after its former fashion.” (Jer. 30:18).

“Out of them [city and palace] shall come songs of thanksgiving and the voices of those who make merry.” (Jer. 30:19).

I Am hope itself:
He is hope! “Yes, ‘I will guard you and keep you in perfect peace whose mind… is stayed on me.”(Is. 26:3).

“Commit yourself to Me, lean on Me, and hope confidently on Me.” (Is. 26:3).

“Rest your ‘tent’ on My Solid Foundation, for I AM an everlasting Rock – the Rock of Ages. Sing a new song, even written so long ago! There is power in praise:
“I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; yes, my heart instructs me in the night seasons. I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved…”(Ps. 16:7,8).
“Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory [my inner self] rejoices; my body, (my tent) shall rest and confidently rest in safety.” (Ps. 16:9)…”You will show me the paths of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy…”(Ps. 16:11).

“I Am able…I will Help… I Am with you…

I will cleanse the lepers, I will open the ears of the deaf. The dead will rise and the poor have the gospel preached to them! It is time to sing a new song: “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain To receive power and riches and wisdom, And strength and honor and glory and blessing!”…Blessing and honor and glory and power Be to Him who sits on the throne, And to the Lamb, forever and ever!” (Revelations 5:12, 13).

God’s word changes us! Amen, amen, amen!

 

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

