Marriage? Like gardens…

Face to face, with the winter past, in my garden I find- what a great mess!

‘Mary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?’

Quite honestly, it’s time to get to work, in my garden, that is…but as I go out to begin to tackle  the weeds, my mind reminds me…”this is what your marriage needs!”

What a humbling thought, as my pride is broken down…but then the words were somehow heard, without a sound:

 an old proverb came knocking at my heart’s door:  Prov. 24:30-34, ‘I walked by the field of a lazy person, the vineyard of one with no common sense. I saw that it was overgrown with nettles and weeds, and it’s walls were all broken down.’ …

was this a big warning from Providence? And what does that mean, ‘no common sense!?’

I think of the rocks, the weeds, the old debris,  then of the wonderful flowers and  great beauty – If  only I choose to cut through all of these!

It’s hard work, but it’s worth it. Every ounce of sweat and tears brings joy and beauty, and ultimately, to the Lord, it brings Him glory! What a revelation… and the words in the Bible speak on and tell a story:

“When I saw it, (the broken down wall and garden a mess), I considered it well;  and I looked on as if it were a test.    ‘A little sleep, a little slumber, A little folding of the hands to rest; So shall your poverty come like a prowler, And your need like an armed bandit.’ (OK, so I paraphrased  a bit!)

‘I considered it well,  not only being lazy, but being quite contrary as the nursery rhyme flows-will not a beautiful garden grow! ‘Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart’ change direction, dear Lord!

My weed-like thoughts have to go!

As I pull and pull these stubborn ol’ weeds, Dear Lord Jesus  will You please take these,

take these thoughts that are angry and negative and gloomy, and will You turn them around that I might think something good, and something noble and even something nice – thoughts that might birth life – instead of destruction-that  the thoughts in my mind I will guard and protect that they will produce-  beauty and glory and honor and thanks!

God help us in our marriages! We need You  to  keep us ! Give us a ‘B’, Yes, B-that we can be a Blessing to our mate. Give us courage to ‘E’ Edify him or edify her. Give us willingness  with a capital ‘S’ that we take the time to Share our space and our thoughts, and give us a ‘T’ that we might discover the beauty of Touch!

Please help me remember what book I read that from? All I know is, this is great wisdom!

Hey! This is hard work! But it’s time to choose to ‘Do it!’ To get in there and get our hands in the dirt and put out those weeds and take out those rocks, to break up that ground and make it all soft. That the seed may be planted, and though it may die, it sprouts up like a miracle and brings up  new life.

It is time to tend the garden of our relationships with people, and God shows the way, though hard, yet quite simple.’Break up that rocky soil’ -it’s time to seek the Lord. He will show you how, the instructions are in His word!

Spend time in prayer,  read a daily Proverb: ‘a little here, a little there,’ not just one time a year! Or we will end up with our beautiful garden all overgrown with thorns!

This is not what we want! We want beauty to be born!

Does anyone know where my gardening gloves are? I’ve got a garden to tend to…oh my! Look at those thorns!

Proverbs 24:30-34,I passed by the field of a sluggard,
    by the vineyard of a man lacking sense,
31 and behold, it was all overgrown with thorns;
    the ground was covered with nettles,
    and its stone wall was broken down.
32 Then I saw and considered it;
    I looked and received instruction.
33 A little sleep, a little slumber,
    a little folding of the hands to rest,
34 and poverty will come upon you like a robber,
    and want like an armed man.

Hosea 10:12, Sow righteousness for yourselves, reap the fruit of unfailing love, and break up your unplowed ground; for it is time to seek the LORD, until he comes and showers his righteousness on you.

Psalm 19:14, May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

 

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

