stories in songs …Heaven Came Down

I write of a song written in days past, but the words ring timeless, today:  “Oh what a wonderful, wonderful day, Day I will never forget; After I’d wandered in darkness away, Jesus my Savior I met.”

Heaven Came Down (1)  is the name of the song, “Shadows dispelling, with joy I am telling, He made all the darkness depart!”

Hope in a song as I read it aloud, I think on the miracle described. That light came in and the shadows were gone – in an instant, ‘darkness depart!’

Just as night fades way for the dawn. The sun proclaims in its rise: ‘Get up! Let’s move on! Leave the past,’ says the ray. Rise up, start anew, its a brand new day!

“… the transaction so quickly was made,” speaks the song. Though my enemy makes me feel, ‘it’s impossible, it will take way too long.’

The struggle to believe the truth from the lie! The war, the battle that wildly rages inside. Impossible with man, tis true indeed, but all things are possible with God, ‘when at the cross I believe.

Truth be told, in this song of old,  that the night departs and moves over for day, when ‘Jesus my Savior I meet‘. Perhaps I make this present tense, not past, not once and for all, but for each new day!

When as a sinner I came, Took of the offer, of grace He did proffer, He saved me, O praise His dear name!’

 “Oh what a tender, compassionate friend, He met the need of my heart. Shadows dispelling, with joy I am telling, He made all the darkness depart!”

Heaven come down, fall on me each day. That I draw close to You Lord once again. ‘After I’d wandered in darkness away… O what a tender, compassionate friend.’

There’s a fight for my soul – Dear Lord, how You know.  Heaven come down and save me. I receive this very moment the message of the cross. Instantly I’m found and no longer lost!

‘Now I have a hope that will surely endure, …’ I can lift up my head  and my eyes finally smile, cause heaven came down with power so pure!

When Heaven came down, on my face leaves the frown, and like the sun beams my face, a new morning! Increase my faith, more and more – faith abounding. That my life for You gives glory.

And each day I live, until the day You call, I pray I have faith to believe all of Your Story:

“Now I’ve a hope that will surely endure After the passing of time; I have a future in heaven for sure, There in those mansions sublime. And it’s because of that wonderful day When at the cross I believed; Riches eternal and blessings suppernal, From His precious hand I received! (Heaven Came Down, exclamation point, mine!)

 

(1) Heaven Came Down by John W. Peterson, 1961).

O what a wonderful, wonderful day-
Day I will never forget;
After I’d wandered in darkness away,
Jesus my Savior I met.
O what a tender, compassionate friend-
He met the need of my heart;
Shadows dispelling, With joy I am telling,
He made all the darkness depart!
CHORUS:
Heaven came down and glory filled my soul,
When at the cross the Savior made me whole;
My sins were washed away
And my night was turned to day-
Heaven came down and glory filled my soul!

Born of the Spirit with life from above
Into God’s family divine,
Justified fully through Calvary’s love,
O what a standing is mine!

And the transaction so quickly was made
When as a sinner I came,
Took of the offer Of grace He did proffer-
He saved me, O praise His dear name!
Now I’ve a hope that will surely endure
After the passing of time;
I have a future in heaven for sure.
There in those mansions sublime.

And its because of that wonderful day
What at the cross I believed;
Riches eternal And blessings supernal
From His precious hand I received.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

