No matter what! There remains a song …

…But where sin abounded, grace did much more abound.Romans 5:20. Comfort is found in writings of old, and stanzas of rhyme reach deep, deep down:

“Child of sorrow, do they leave thee, those on whom thy hopes were stayed?

“Jesus calls, and will receive thee, with a love that cannot fade.

“Hark, he bids thee, seek the home –  for sinners made.”

The pen of C.H. Spurgeon,  attempts to woo us home, as eyes find their way on the written page.

“As for me, in my prosperity I said, I shall never be moved. By Your favor, O Lord, You have established me as a strong mountain; …” (1)   

These are words, of the Psalm of David. In strength and confidence we turn our eyes from the Living Waters. We confidently moved on from the Fount. But God, in His great love for us allows tribulation, that we might once again turn our eyes to the Mount.

“You hid Your face, and I was  troubled.” (Psalm 30, Psalm of David), “I cried to You, … and to the Lord I made supplication.”

The Psalms, the poems. They are written that we might  – come – back – home:

“Hear, O Lord, have mercy on me, …O Lord, my helper, be gracious to me!” Words breathed from God for us, that we might cry out to Him from our own lips. They are not not just  words for David, these are words for our very own tongues, that speak from the heart, these words to express:

‘You have turned my mourning into dancing … ; You have put off my sackcloth and girded  gladness on me.’ By the power of forgiveness found in God, through His precious Son Jesus, we become changed. All this found in the power of His name:

“To the end that my tongue and my heart and everything, …everything glorious within me may sing …

‘Praise to You!’  I will not be silent, O Lord my God, I will give thanks to You forever.’ (2) O Lord my God, You’ve given me favor!

May we acknowledge His power, this very hour. May we rest our souls on His hope and forgiveness. May we sing the old songs that by His own breath was given. May we dig, deep, deep down and find the song, that was there from the beginning, but was lost somehow.

Here is our song, Here is our story. Today we sing it strong, giving God glory; this is my song, this is my story:

“Though the fig tree does not blossom, and there be no fruit on the vine; though the product of the olive may fail. Though the fields yield no food, though the flock be cut off from the fold, and there are no cattle in the stalls” …  thus sings the song of of old:

“Yet, I will rejoice in the Lord! I will lift up the name of my victorious God. He is  my strength! The Lord God is my bravery. He is my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet, and He makes me to walk, (not to stand in terror anymore!) I walk upon the hills, (of trouble and suffering still,) yet He makes me to walk and watch as He skips upon the hills! And He reaches His hand that I take hold of it forever! And I put my hand in His, … I will rejoice in the Lord from this day forth, and for ever! (3)

 

Is this your song? Is this your story? Shall we acknowledge God and give Him all the glory? Join me today, to live your life for Him? To Praise His name ’cause His love never fails. Shall we join God’s army in these last days – and shout out together:  – ‘All Hail the power of Jesus’ name’. Join me today, to walk in confidence with no shame? Shout out an “Amen!” and let’s go on living a life that praises Him!

 

(1) Psalm 30:6.

(2) Psalm 30:12.

(3) my personal interpretation, my song, of Habakkuk 3: 17-19!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

