Peace . Perhaps we simple change seats …

There is no peace,” are the words of many today. So we look and we study, and we even get healthy, as we search for and yearn for, the remedy.

Perhaps the answer lies in the choice of our seat – Do we take the chair of the captain in charge of all things, or do we sit in the chair ‘as the child’ seeking wisdom from the King?

Do we see that we rest in the palm of His hand. Do we know that His ways are not the ways of man? (1) Have we forgotten, ‘as a child’,  and the songs that were sung:  ‘Jesus loves me, this I know…’ Do we crack open the Bible, or have we been educated to let that Book go?

‘Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, with prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, make your request known to God, … ‘

this is written to the children from our Father. And this is the fruit from this kind of labor: ” … and the peace that passes all understanding, …’ peace that won’t make sense to the rest, peace that comes from within the depth,  peace no matter the situation, peace and a heart of thankfulness – this kind of peace is a promise with the command,

and it ‘ …will guard your heart and mind in Christ …’  (2) so one can stand.

Who has great understanding and freedom to trust? Watch a little child. They’re under someone’s care, they skip and they’re free to have joy and be ‘me’. There was a time when Jesus was asked, “Who is the greatest in God’s Kingdom? And Jesus called a little child to stand, and He said, ‘I tell you truly, unless you become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom you seek…’ (3)

“This is so elementary,” might be our response. “Yes, as simple as ABC. But, only simple in thought, but certainly, not easy. To have peace we must, ‘let go and let God.’ So the very first step, elementary indeed, is to lift up our eyes to Him and Believe.

“Without faith it’s impossible to please the Lord…” (4) So perhaps the first question that must be asked, is, “Who do I choose to please in this day? Which seat do I take, once again? Do I seek to please me and all of my plans, or do I choose to move over and take God’s hand?

“But where will He lead me? How can I trust?” Day after day, moment by moment, the struggle continues in our hearts prone to lust: lust after control, lust after revenge, lust after things that destroy our, peace, ‘What then?!’

“This is what the LORD says – the LORD who made the earth, who formed and established it, whose name is the LORD: …(5) Do you see the letters written in all caps as this? This the YHWH, the I AM, but not because He’s angry, ‘No!’ It’s simply that ‘fear of Him’ brings peace and  great bliss.

He is the I AM that I AM, (6) the Beginning and the End,  (7) even closer than a brother, He sticks by you as a friend,  (8), He is able to accomplish all that concerns you and is seen, He is LORD, the I AM, the Self-Existent One – “we are human beings,  He is ‘Being!‘”(9)

So in order to have a peace that passes all understanding, simple but not easy, the solution is given. Which seat do we  choose to sit in today? To be as a child and trust the Father and His way? ‘There is a river whose streams shall make glad the city of God… God is in the midst of her. She shall not be moved.” 

As a child, in a moments time, shall we take hold of our Father’s hand, and let Him lead us on, singing a childhood song, “I’ve got peace like a river, …and trust that, “God will help us when morning dawns.”(11)

Yes, today I choose to ‘fear God’ and sing, and acknowledge He loves me, and continually make Him my King. If you join me today, please respond and say, “I am His child, and I am in His care, today I turn each care I have into a prayer. Trusting He is, and He hears my requests, trusting He loves and His plans are the best. Oh, God, forgive me as I miss the mark each day. Lead me and guide me, I’m Yours Lord, this day.”

  • * * * * *

(1) Isaiah 55: 8,9. “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”

(2) Philippians 4: 6,7.  “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

(3) Matthew 18:1-3, “At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who then is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” Jesus called a little child to stand among them. “Truly I tell you,” He said, “unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.…”

(4) Hebrews 11:6. “And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him.”

(5) Jeremiah 33:2. “This is what the LORD says – the LORD who made the earth, who formed and established it, whose name is the LORD: Ask me and I will tell you remarkable secrets you do not know about things to come.”

(6) Exodus 3:14.

(7) Revelation 1:8, “I am the Alpha and the Omega–the beginning and the end,” says the Lord God. “I am the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come–the Almighty One.”

(8)  Proverbs 18:24, “There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother.”

(9)  by Jack Wellman, October 17, 2013, the Christian Crier.

(10) Psalm 46:3-5. “Though its waters roar and foam, Though the mountains quake at its swelling pride. Selah.  There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God. The holy dwelling places of the most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.”

(11) Psalms 46:5.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “Peace . Perhaps we simple change seats …”

  1. I study God’s word because I am His sheep and He is my Shepherd. I pray that we sheep continually hear His voice in the midst of this day where there are a multitude of sounds and sights and opinions all around. What does God have to say about all of this? He gave us His word. There is mystery, yes, but there are answers and solid absolutes in His word. We have no peace because it’s a step by step journey. We have to choose God each minute, each hour at best, because our flesh can get us into a huge mess. Fear God! This is wisdom for today. So I write because God’s word IS the remedy: “This is my comfort in my affliction, …” (What does the rest of the verse have to say?) “Your word has given me life.” (Psalm 119: 50).

Leave a Reply

