Written in 1745, timeless for me, myself, and I …

Old words opened and brought to the light of my eyes, speak as if they were penned today that I might recognize,

Something that’s contrary to my wants and ways through the years, and even despised by my open – yet oft’ times, closed ears:

“With broken heart and contrite sigh,
A trembling sinner, Lord, I cry;
Thy pard’ning grace is rich and free:
O God, be merciful to me!”

Written by William Williams in 1745, repentance in prose so that man might identify.

But our culture and we, are often offended by this. Only because the devil himself has twisted God’s grace.

“I smite upon my troubled breast,
With deep and conscious guilt oppressed;
Christ and His cross my only plea:
O God, be merciful to me!”

And on occasion, when I feel I’ve  got it all down, the next thing I know, is I’m on the ground.

“Far off I stand with tearful eyes,

Nor dare uplift them to the skies;
But Thou dost all my anguish see,
O God, be merciful to me!”

 William Williams in 1775 was simply writing what he felt inside, he penned from his heart, but it was also for this day for me,  for myself, for, I.

“With alms, or deeds that I have done,
Not one sin’s pardon can be won;
To Calvary alone I flee;
O God, be merciful to me!”

The exclamation point is not mine. It was written in this hymn and it must needs remain for all of time!

“And when redeemed from sin and hell,

With all the ransomed throng I dwell,
My raptured song shall ever be,
God has been merciful to me!”

Because God is merciful, gracious and compassionate. Because God paid it all and looks not on all my accomplishment. He is forever the same. He is ‘slow to anger’ and He hears my plea:

“O God, be merciful to me.” Today and tomorrow. Let me think on You and Your goodness, and forget all my sorrow.

That I might have a story, all for myself, that You Lord, heard my cry and have filled my life with Your love’s wealth.

Amen, and Amen. Does anyone agree? Let us all say together, Amen!

Hymn by William Williams, 1745.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

