Not just poetry. This is my story.

Could it be that man can’t see, until he (or she) find himself in a pit to be?Then in desperation, weakness, and shame He calls out that all-powerful Name.

And, power in the Name of Jesus is found – to restore, remake, and let salvation abound. The search for peace, joy, and rest is discovered – when we finally choose to lay our (destructive) “self” down.

This isn’t me “preaching” or being “holier than thou.” This is my story. I was destroying myself in my thoughts, and in my actions, somehow. “I can do this my self.”  But I was only heading . . .

d-

o-

w-

n.

– but God! With a Holy Book I was given years before, I read and I wept. God was turning me around.

He allowed all the hardship. My stubborn “self” was blind. But God. Yes, “but God,” He was, (and is still) here by my side.

Not with condemnation, did Jesus come. He met me and received me, bringing  s-a-l-v-a-t-i-o-n!

“If any man come after me, let him deny himself . . .” (1) I needed to deny my-self  my self-destructive choices. And instead hear God’s Word, instead of the critical voices.

“God is love.” (2) Did I even know what love is? Man’s best rendition seems at best, a big miss.

Could I even comprehend Love that reaches higher than the heavens? Man’s love, separated from the Source, reveals, (quite honestly), No positive connection!

“Change me!” was, (and remains to be) my cry. God hears. God is able. But first, I must “lose my life.”

For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.”(3) My ears were finally hearing, without restraint, God’s H-o-l-y Spirit.

The past is gone. All things are new. (4) God’s promises bring hope that I proclaim to you. Why is it important that I tell you my story? Because, you, me, and all of creation were created by God to give Him glory.

But Satan, he lies, and steals and destroys. He distracts, and confuses and fills our lives with noise. Sin entered in, by his deception back then. But God sent deliverance. God’s perfect love “never fails.”(5) He gave us His Son to allow sweet redemption.

Faith is what’s needed for God’s Spirit to breathe through our sails.

Believe in God? Then Jesus you’ll discover. He is the Word expressed from cover to cover. From Genesis to the Book of Revelation. The Alpha Omega, the Beginning and End.(6)

Perfect forgiveness offered by the blood of the Lamb.

Are you walking in the light of His great love today? Choose to let your “self” go and trust and follow His way.

This will not prove easy, but it will bring power and life. God’s word is the comfort through the world’s stress and strife.

His grace is sufficient. His love will never cease. Simply choose to turn to Jesus. Your eyes will see, and your heart will too proclaim, He is my Prince of Peace.

(1) Matthew 16:24,25, Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.

(2) 1 John 4:8, Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.

(3) Matthew 16:35

(4)1 Corinthians 5:17, Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

(5) 1 Corinthians 13, (Love) bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails;

(6) Revelation 21:1-5,6, He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

 He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life.

 

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

