Move the strings, let the voice ring

The battle is raging. This life oft times feels as war.

At times in our houses. In our schools and our work.  War-torn like pictures in our news in the town.

Discovery of tumors and cancers, in cells all around. Our hearts grow weary, and broken. We cry in sleepless nights, “O Lord God in heaven, We cry mercy. Can You see, we are weak for the fight.”

But we’ve been taught, as a child and again, “The Word. The Word. There is power and hope in the words within. So my fingers open up to Psalm 18, near the middle in my bible, and I pray, “Dear God speak life in this body of mine. I need You right now. Give me a song in exchange for this whine.”

 “Blessed be the LORD my Rock who trains my hands for war and my fingers for battle, I will meditate on these verses, because victory is God’s,   ‘He teaches my hands to make war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze…’

Let us choose this moment, this day in time, to take a breath and put vibration on the strings that are mine, and yours if you will, let us sing praises to God. Praise goes before the battle. And the battle is His, and He loves us for all time.

“Blessed be the LORD my Rock, Who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle-” (Ps. 144:1).

“He teaches my hands to make war, So that my arms can bend a bow of bronze…” (Ps. 18:34).

“Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so ...” What is the Bible telling me? ‘The LORD trains my hands for war?’ “Oh God, what do these words mean for me? As I take time to sit at Your word and read?

“The LORD my Rock trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle?” ‘Psalm 18 verse 34, to the Chief Musician…’ – Lord, that is You.  “…with my stringed instruments …” I ask that You give me understanding through and through!

To the Chief Musician with my stringed instruments…” with my stings, O LORD, I will sing. I will sing praise to You in the battle I’m in.  I will, “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!” (1)

We are each in ‘personal wars!’ But, ‘blessed be the LORD my Rock who trains my hands for war and my fingers for battle, I will meditate on these verses, because victory is Gods.

Let us choose this moment, this day in time, to take a breath and put vibration on the strings that are mine, and yours if you will, let us sing praises to God. 

Praise goes before the battle. And the battle is His, and He loves us for all time.

Pick up the strings, in your voice or the keys, or the guitar, the mandolin, or even  ukulele. There is power in praise. God says, we  can ‘bend a bow of bronze’

 Somehow, God in His merciful kindness, gives us grace for the moment, and He bring peace that passes all understanding, when we ‘sing a new song!’

“To You, O God, we worship, we sing. We give to You our everything – all our trials, all our pain, all our sickness, yes, even our shame. Dear Jesus, we praise Your name because You have died and risen again. Yes, dear Jesus, we bring our ‘sacrifice of praise.’

“Though the fig tree may not blossom, Nor fruit be on the vine; though the labor of the olive may fail, and the fields yield no food;… Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation.” (2) This is what I will choose to do.

Will you join me and bring a ‘sacrifice of praise’…

to Jesus and make Him LORD this day?  That we might rejoice and sing His song and watch Him, ‘bend the bow of bronze’!

Let God know if this is your choice, talk to Him, let Him hear your beautiful voice. And even if the notes aren’t all right, He hears them perfect and lovely and melodiously bright! “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible… tells me so!”

(1) Philippians 4:4, “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!”

(2) Habakuk 3:18

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

